The 5G Standard

2020 Excellence Rewarded

Mar 11, 2021

March 11, 2021

Four colleagues from the 3GPP Working Groups have received the 3GPP Excellence Award, for their contribution to the progress of standardization efforts in 2020. The four are Stoyan Baev (RAN5), Devaki Chandramouli (SA2), Mihai Enescu (RAN1) and Alf Zugenmaier (SA3).

The permanent Excellence Award roll-of-honour has been updated and, following the virtual Award ceremonies, the physical awards are now on their way to the 2020 recipients.

group picture2Mihai Enescu’s award recognises his work on NR MIMO related standardization and the 38.214 specification. He was thanked by Wanshi Chen, WG RAN1 Chair, for his leading role in progressing MIMO discussions in a technical-oriented manner. Chen commented that “As an editor, Mihai provided the specification updates with high quality, listening to comments from all delegates, addressing the comments with patience, and delivering successfully the spec updates for 38.214 in both Rel-15 and Rel-16.”

The WG RAN5 Chair, Jacob John nominated Stoyan Baev for his management and technical leadership in meeting the certification conformance testing needs for 5GS and Mission Critical Services over LTE. He identified Stoyan Baev’s “dedication, commitment and exemplary support for all aspects of RAN5 activities and for his work with the Global Certification Forum (GCF), where mapping of test development with market requirements has significantly benefitted the wider device related industry.”

Devaki Chandramouli of WG SA2 has been rewarded, for her work as the Rapporteur of multiple Study and Work items on the 5G System Architecture and Industrial IoT. Presenting the award at the recent SA2#143-e meeting the SA2 Chair, Puneet Jain, said “You took the initiative to drive consensus and resolve controversial issues. Your breadth of technical expertise and soft skills have made you a trusted and exceptional delegate in SA2.”

WG SA3, the Security and Privacy group, has also received an award for the work of its highly appreciated and valued member Alf Zugenmaier. His efforts in 2020, on the development of the 5G security specification (TS 33.501), were instrumental to the completion of the work. Noamen Ben Henda, SA3 Chair, says: “Alf Zugenmaier' s dedication to security is exemplary. Alf shows a great deal of commitment not only to his tasks as a rapporteur or as a vice-chair but also to the progress of work in this group.”

2020 excellence board

 Go to the 3GPP Excellence Awards

Contact for this article: Kevin FLYNN, Marketing and Communications Officer, 3GPP