The 5G Standard

SA Election completes 3GPP line-up

Mar 23, 2011

3GPP has a new Technical Specification Group Service and System Aspects (TSG-SA) Chairman, with the election of Balazs Bertenyi, of Nokia Siemens Networks, to the top position of this key group in the Partnership.

This result brings an end to a week long process of elections at the 51st Plenary of 3GPP, in Kansas City, a series of meetings that will also achieve the completion of the feature set for 3GPP Release 10, as it is functionally frozen.

Mr. Bertenyi is vastly experienced as a rapporteur, head of delegation and most recently as Chairman of SA2 Working Group - for the past four years. He succeeds Stephen Hayes of Ericsson Inc. as SA Chairman, as he steps down at the end of his 3rd term of office. Mr. Hayes has led the group with distinction since 2005, a highly productive time for 3GPP, navigating the Plenary of 3GPP successfully through a period of great growth in participation and output.

The role of TSG SA is to be responsible for the overall architecture and service capabilities of 3GPP systems and, as such, taking responsibility for cross group co-ordination. The SA plenary is always the last of the three (RAN, CT and SA) plenary meetings to be held during the quarterly meeting cycle, as it is in SA that specifications are formally approved.

Elections for Chairman and 3 Vice Chairmen of TSG SA

SA#51 in Kansas City, (US), 22nd March 2011.

  Name Company / Partner  
  Mr Balazs BERTENYI Nokia Siemens Networks / ETSI  

Vice Chairmanship

  Name Company / Partner  
  Mr Akishige NODA Fujitsu Limited / TTC  
  Dr Sungho CHOI Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd / TTA  
  Mr Gary JONES T-Mobile USA Inc. / ATIS  

*All Election results are subject to 3GPP Project Coordination Group approval at their next meeting (PCG#26).