A Global
Partnership

The Mobile
Broadband
Standard

Global Initiative for M2M Standardization
Seven Standards Development Organizations (SDOs) are set to create a cooperative M2M standards activity.

In doing this, they intend to pull together multiple industries to create specifications that will improve the return on investment on standards work and create a worldwide potential for M2M applications. This approach has been inspired by the 3GPP model and during the establishment of the M2M initiative, the SDOs have looked to 3GPP and its market-focus and global participation as a bench mark.

3GPP systems are also expected to be a vital enabler for M2M from the outset.

A press release, issued simultaneously by the SDOs, announced that “the global initiative will be established early in 2012 and will then initiate the technical work to meet the challenges of rapidly evolving industries.”

  Read about the Press Release: EE Times: "Seven standards bodies form global M2M initiative"  


Current Participating Standards Development Organizations



The global initiative has currently gathered representatives from: the Association of Radio Industries and Businesses (ARIB) and the Telecommunication Technology Committee (TTC) of Japan; the Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions (ATIS) and the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA) of the USA; the China Communications Standards Association (CCSA); the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI); and the Telecommunications Technology Association (TTA) of Korea.

  SDO Contacts Further reading  
  ARIB Kohei Satoh (satoh@arib.or.jp), Masaaki Koga (koga@kddi.com) ARIB M2M Study AdHoc Group  
  ATIS Susan Miller (smiller@atis.org), Steve Barclay (sbarclay@atis.org) ATIS M2M Focus Group  
  CCSA Thomas Li (thomas.lili@huawei.com), Shizhuo Zhao (zhaosz@ccsa.org.cn) http://ccsa.org.cn/  
  ETSI Joachim Koss (joachim.koss@cinterion.com), Adrian Scrase (adrian.scrase@etsi.org) ETSI M2M  
  TIA Cheryl Blum (cblum@tiaonline.org), Herb Congdon (hcongdon@tiaonline.org) TIA Press  
  TTA Byoung-Moon Chin (bmchin@tta.or.kr), Yong Chang (yongchang@samsung.com) http://www.tta.or.kr  
  TTC Tom Tomita (ftomita@ttc.or.jp), Tatsuo Takahashi (takahashi@ttc.or.jp) http://www.ttc.or.jp  



Search
More News:
News Feeds