





# **Table of Contents**

- **Completed R'99 WIs**
- **R'99** WIs with exceptions to CN#8
- **WIs moved out of R'99**
- **Work Items where guidance from SA is requested**
- **Coordination with SA**
- **F** Elections
- **Reorganization**



#### Major completed R'99 WIs

- Bearer Modification
- CAMEL Ph 3 (User interaction during monitoring deferred)
- **GLR**
- GSM/UMTS interworking
- □ Handover (OoBTC) (Codec negotiation and TrFO deferred)
- MM Classmark
- Multicall
- Multimedia (Swap & fallback to speech deferred)
- **Pre-Paging**
- **Supercharger**



#### **R'99 WIs with exceptions to CN#8**

- Authentication Failure (UE response procedure not defined)
- □ CS Bearers in UMTS (Question to S1: Low rate NT services needed?)
- □ Global cause code of "No Id"
- □ Integrity protection of Emergency Calls (Required)
- **PCS-1900 NP**



#### Work Items where guidance from SA is requested

- □ 3G Location Services (CS cell location for UMTS)
- CS Bearers in UMTS (Question to S1: Low rate NT services needed?)
- EUIC (Question to S1: Behaviour of paging after VLR restart) CN Recommendation - Move to R'00
- □ IMEI Coding format (Analysis started)
- MAP Security (Concept nearing agreement, Key distribution not addressed)
- OSA (Open issues outstanding) CN Recommendation R'99



## WIs moved out of R'99

Real Time Non-Transparent Fax (Early R'00 completion at CN#8)

- □ L3 Segmentation
- **Turbocharger**
- USIM triggered re-authentication



# Coordination with SA

- Continuing dialog with S1 to clarify requirements
- Joint meetings with S2 on work items and IP work split
- □ Joint meetings with S3 to increase interaction
- □ ITU-T preparatory meetings



## **Elections**

- Chair: Stephen Hayes Ericsson/T1
- Vice-Chair: Masami Yabusaki DoCoMo/TTC
- Vice-Chair: Ian Park Vodafone Airtouch/ETSI



#### Reorganization **Old Grp** Chair/Convenor Group Topic Secretary MM/CC/SM N1 N1 Hannu Hietalahti (Chair) Ban Al-Bakri N2 N2A CAMEL Keijo Palviainen, Nokia (proposed Monica Hellman Convenor) NB NB Interworking Norbert Klehn (Chair) David Boswarthick (with external Networks) N2B +MAP/GTP / BCH/SS Franco Settimo **N4** Yun-Chao Hu - Ericsson (proposed SS (SS - only maintenance Convenor) expected) N5 OSA Lucas Klostermann, Ericsson-Monica Hellman OSA (proposed Convenor) ITU-T **ITU-T** coordination Masami Yabusaki (lan Park) ITU-T none electronic workstyle! Coord Coord