

A Technical Subcommittee of Standards Committee T1 Telecommunications

Accredited by the American National Standards Institute

Asok Chatterjee Chairman

Stephen Hayes Vice Chairman March 24, 1999

Mr. Furuya, Chairman TSG-RAN

Mr. Niels Andersen, Chairman TSG-SA

Mr. Antti Toskala, Chairman TSG-RANWG1 (antti.toskala@ntc.nokia.com)

Mr. Denis Fauconnier, Chairman TSG-RANWG2

Subject: Integration of Wideband Packet-CDMA RTT into a Global 3G Standard

Gentlemen:

First, we want to thank you for the support you have given to our Committee members that presented Distinguishing Features of the WP-CDMA RTT at various meetings over the past few weeks. The WP-CDMA RTT reflects the importance placed by U.S. service providers on the need for advanced packet capabilities in a 3G system supporting Internet and multimedia traffic. The merger of two U.S. SDO committees' RTTs into WP-CDMA was fundamentally driven by the common recognition of the importance of these advanced packet services. This harmonized RTT was submitted to the ITU on January 8, 1999.

The distinguishing features of this U.S./T1P1/TR46 proposal are under consideration within the 3GPP. These most important features include:

Uplink Common Packet Channel
Downlink Common Control Channel
Intra-frequency Hard Handover
Quick Handover
Multi-code Option
Higher APC Rate
Removal of Link Maintenance Channel (accepted)
WP-CDMA Common Control Physical Channel (modified Ad Hoc S) (accepted)

We consider such capabilities to be essential to any packet oriented W-CDMA specification. Committee T1 is committed to standardize the final 3GPP specification within our region. Consequently, we're eager to have your full support for the incorporation of such packet features into the 3GPP specification.

Phone: (925) 737-5849 Fax: (925) 225-0666

Pleasanton, CA 94588

Reply to:

Asok Chatterjee

Ericsson, Inc.

Mobile: (972) 839-8971

asok.chatterjee@ericsson.com

6160 Stoneridge Mall Road, Suite 400

Best regards,

[Original copy signed by Asok Chatterjee]

Asok Chatterjee Chairman, T1P1

Cc: Chris Wallace, Chairman TR46