Document NP-000139 e.g. for 3GPP use the format TP-99xxx or for SMG, use the format P-99-xxx T1P1/2000-043 T1P1.5/2000-155r1

T1P1 Wireless/Mobile Services and Systems

A Technical Subcommittee of Standards Committee T1 Telecommunications

Accredited by the American National Standards Institute

> Asok Chatterjee Chairman

Mark Younge Vice Chairman NielsPeter_Andersen@Europe30.mot.com Mr. Harald Dettner, 3GPP CN Chair harald.dettner@icn.siemens.de Dr. Sang-Keun Park, 3GPP T Chair Skpark@khgw.info.samsung.co.kr Mr. Fred Hillebrand, SMG Chair, FHillebrand@t-online.de

Mr. Niels Peter Skov Andersen, 3GPP SA Chair

Subject: Transfer of GSM LCS to 3GPP and SMG2

and SMG2 Chair

T1P1 thanks 3GPP and SMG for their continued support throughout LCS GSM Release 98 development.

T1P1 Location Services (LCS) has completed the work for GSM Release 98. This milestone represents the most logical opportunity to transition lead responsibility of the work to the 3GPP, as requested by 3GPP TSG-CN and SMG2.

Best regards,

January 28, 2000

To:

[Original copy signed by Asok Chatterjee]

Asok Chatterjee Chairman, T1P1

Reply to: Asok Chatterjee Ericsson, Inc. 6160 Stoneridge Mall Road, Suite 400 Pleasanton, CA 94588

> Phone: (925) 737-5849 Fax: (925) 225-0666 Mobile: (972) 839-8971 asok.chatterjee@ericsson.com